Part 5 Solar Oven

In the past two weeks I have tested my solar oven prototype two times. There has not been many sunny days when I am at home. I tried boiling an egg the first time and I tipped the oven on a slant towards the sun by placing it on a wooden wedge. I pre-heated the oven for half an hour before placing my egg. After 1 hour and 15 minutes of direct sunlight the egg was warm but not cooked. Several days later I tried again but this time I cracked the egg into the upside down lid of the pot. Still no luck! The egg got slightly warm but did not fry. Definitely I need to change something on my solar oven. This week my Dad and I have been working on a larger box. It will be shallower to allow more sun and I will change the type of glass and use plain aluminum foil or mirrors for reflectors. Maybe the aluminum covered insulation is not reflecting properly. I still need to find a thermometer to help test the heat.

Leave a comment